FIFA Award of Politics or Confusion?

FIFA Award of Politics or Confusion?

With agency report

On Monday, FIFA announced Bayern Munich’s record-setting striker, Robert Lewandowski as the winner of its men’s best player at “The Best” of 2021 ceremony while Barcelona captain, Alexia Putellas won the women category.

The 33-year-old Lewandowski, who set a Bundesliga goal record last season, won the trophy for the second time, edging Argentine Lionel Messi of Paris Saint-Germain and Egyptian Mohamed Salah of Liverpool.

Chelsea’s Edouard Mendy and Christiane Endler of Lyon won the goalkeeping awards for male and female category.

Chelsea also picked up both coaching awards through Thomas Tuchel and Emma Hayes for male and female category respectively.

Mendy of Chelsea

Erik Lamela, now with Sevilla, won the best goal award for his trick rabona shot for Spurs in the North London derby.

The medical staff and players of Denmark, who had to deal with Christian Eriksen’s collapse on the field at the Euro won the “fair-play” award.

Cristiano Ronaldo was given a special award for becoming the men’s international highest scorer with 115.

Well, FIFA seem to have gotten it right by given deserving winners but missed it when it comes to the Fifpro Men’s World XI except they want to justify the criteria used for selecting the best 11 players.

For reference purpose, FIFA nominated: Donnarumma; Dias, Bonucci, Alaba; Jorginho, Kante, De Bruyne; Ronaldo, Haaland, Lewandowski, Messi. The best striker, Lewandowski is in the list while the best goalkeeper is replaced by another person.

Then the player that came third, Mohammed Salah is also not included in the best XI while Messi is included, what then is the criteria used in selecting if your best goalkeeper and third best is not in your best XI or could it be that they made a mistake during collation?

This is definitely not good for the image of football especially the world governing to be making such blunder. Putting politics or favouritism will jeopardise the fun of the game. When European Football Federation, UEFA made a blunder in the selection of their best, one would have expected that FIFA will correct it but they also followed suit. The selection process especially using fans in the name of professionals that to vote should be discouraged by all the federations concerned.

Anyways, if FIFA and UEFA could make such unpardonable blunders, that means when African football governing body, CAF makes its own, nobody should just complain. If the father can make a mistake, then the mistake of the child should just be overlooked. This definitely not good for the round leather game. A stitch in time saves nine.


All the winners from 2021 The Best

  • The Best FIFA Men’s Player – Robert Lewandowski
  • The Best FIFA Women’s Player – Alexia Putellas
  • The FIFA Fifpro Men’s World XI: Donnarumma; Dias, Bonucci, Alaba; Jorginho, Kante, De Bruyne; Ronaldo, Haaland, Lewandowski, Messi
  • The FIFA Fifpro Women’s World XI: Chistiane Endler; Lucy Bronze, Wendy Renard, Mille Bright, Magdalena Erikkson; Estafania Banini, Carli Lloyd, Barbara Bonansea; Vivianne Miedema, Marta, Alex Morgan
  • FIFA Fan Award – Denmark and Finland Fans
  • The Best FIFA Men’s Coach – Thomas Tuchel
  • The FIFA Best Women’s Coach – Emma Hayes
  • FIFA Fair Play Award – Denmark National Team and Staff
  • Puskas Award – Erik Lamela
  • The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper – Edouard Mendy
  • The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper – Christiane Endler
  • FIFA Best Special Award – Christine Sinclair
  • FIFA Best Special Award – Cristiano Ronaldo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.